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glossary of terms >> media glossary

Term

Definition

Cache

Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Cache can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk (hard drive) cache. Today, Web browsers cause virtually all data viewed to be cached on a user's computer.

Cache busting

The process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request.  Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users.

Cache ad impressions

The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy server’s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

Caching

The process of copying a Web element (page or ad) for later reuse. On the Web, this copying is normally done in two places: in the user's browser and on proxy servers. When a user makes a request for a Web element, the browser looks into its own cache for the element; then a proxy, if any; followed by the intended server. Caching is done to reduce redundant network traffic, resulting in increased overall efficiency of the Internet.

Channel

1) a band of similar content; 2) a type of sales outlet (also known as channel of distribution), for example retail, catalogue, or e-commerce.

Chat

Online interactive communication between two or more people on the Web. One can “talk” in real time with other people in a chat room, but the words are typed instead of spoken.

Chat room

An area online where you can chat with other people in real-time.

Click down

the action of clicking on an element within an ad and having another file displayed on the user’s screen, normally below or above the initial ad. Click down ads allow the user to stay on the same Web page and provide the advertiser a larger pallet to communicate their message.

Click rate

Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

Click stream

1) The electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) a comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a user’s browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server.

Clickthrough

The action of following a hyperlink within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity.

Click within

similar to click down or click. But more commonly, click-withins are ads that allow the user to “drill down” and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing.

Client initiated ad impression

One of the two methods used for ad counting. Ad content is delivered to the user via two methods - server-initiated and client-initiated. Client-initiated ad counting relies on the user’s browser for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. For organizations using a client-initiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publisher’s ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process. See server-initiated ad impression.

Communication error

The failure of a Web browser/Web server to successfully request/transfer a document.

Content integration

Advertising woven into editorial content or placed in a contextual envelope. Also known as "Web advertorial".

Cookie buster

Software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user’s browser.

Copy

Printed text in an advertisement.

Count Audit

See activity audit.

CPA (cost per action)

Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

CPC (cost per click)

Cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.

CPL (cost per lead)

Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

CPM (cost per thousand)

Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).

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"DGM has enabled Sainsbury's Bank to cut through and reach their target market with phenomenal success."
Victoria Blackmore, Digital Media Account Director, Universal



"Growth for theaa.com in this area has been spectacularly cost-efficient."
Ben Walton, Head of E-Commerce Marketing, The AA



"DGM and their affiliates are a valuable and important element to our online sales strategy."
Chris King, Head of Affiliate Sales, BT